Legislation to control Security Market in India

The four main legislations governing “the securities markets are:

(a) the SEBI Act, 1992 which establishes SEBI to protect investors and develop and regulate securities market;

(b) the Companies Act, 1956, which sets out the code of conduct for the corporate sector in relation to issue, allotment and transfer of securities, and disclosures to be made in public issues;

(c) the Securities Contracts (Regulation) Act, 1956, which provides for regulation of transactions in securities through control over stock exchanges; and

(d) the Depositories Act, 1996 which provides for electronic maintenance and transfer of ownership of demat securities.