North Central Highlands

The central highlands of peninsular India include the Aravallis, The Malwa Plateau and the Vindhyan Range.

The Aravallis:

 It runs from North East to South West for 800 km between Delhi to Gujarat.

  It is one of the oldest folding mountain ranges of the World.

  It is highly denuded. Its highest peak is Guru Shikhar.

  The Great Boundary fault (GBF) separates Aravallis from Vindhyan mountains.

The Malwa plateau:

  It is bordered by the Aravallis in the North, Vindhyan range in the South and Bundelkhand plateau in the East.

  Malwa plateau has two drainage systems, one towards the Arabian Sea (Narmada and Mahi) and other towards Bay of Bengal (Chambal, Sind, Betwa, Ken).

Vindhyan Range

  • The Vindhyan Range, overlooking (have a view of from above) the Narmada valley, rises as an escarpment (a long, steep slope at the edge of a plateau or separating areas of land at different heights) flanking (neighboring on one side) the northern edge of the Narmada-Son Trough (the rift through which the Narmada river flows)(trough is opposite of ridge. It is a narrow depression).
  • It runs more or less parallel to the Narmada Valley in an east-west direction from Jobat in Gujarat to Sasaram in Bihar for a distance of over 1,200 km.
  • The general elevation of the Vindhyan Range is 300 to 650 m.
  • Most parts of the Vindhayan Range are composed of horizontally bedded sedimentary rocks of ancient age. {Rock System}
  • The Vindhyas are continued eastwards as the Bharner and Kaimur hills.
  • This range acts as a watershed between the Ganga system and the river systems of south India.
  • The rivers Chambal, Betwa and Ken rise within 30 km of the Narmada.

Image result for The North Central Highlands

Image result for The North Central Highlands

1,163 total views, 2 views today

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!